Nagaland Pradesh Congress Committee (NPCC) came into existence when the erstwhile regional party Nagaland Nationalist Organsiation (NNO) merged with Indian National Congress on June 19, 1976.

The signing of 10 Point Modalities on Oct 12, 1978 between NPCC and All India Congress Committee (AICC) represented by the then General Secretary AICC Shri AR Antulay, which was approved by Smti Indira Gandhi gave NPCC a unique position among all the state units of Indian National Congress in having its own separate constitution.

The foundation of the NPCC is based on Point No 1 of 10 Point Modalities which says, “The Nagaland Pradesh Congress Party shall be national in name but regional in content.”

The INC then went on to win five consecutive state assembly elections held in 1982, 1987, 1989, 1993 and 1998. Though it lost power since 2003 assembly elections, yet INC remains the main principal opposition party in Nagaland and continues to be the voice of the people without compromising on the ideology and principles of Indian National Congress.